B for D

I know that people out there have some differing opinions about this, but I’ve always been the kind of person who can eat breakfast food at any time of day. It is difficult for me to understand how the idea of a hot breakfast sandwich for lunch or French toast for dinner, for example, is repellent to some people. Be that as it may, breakfast for dinner (heretofore referred to as B for D) is a cheap and quick way to cook a comforting meal, especially when you’re near the end of the week and your crisper drawer is void of vegetables.

1399235527.728718.IMG_0883

Except for those flaccid stalks of celery. You should probably just throw those in the compost.

Considering the traditional options, there is certainly nothing extravagantly priced, unless you’re splurging on real maple syrup, which as a New Englander I highly recommend:

  • Cereal (bachelors, I’m looking at you)
  • Yogurt with fruit
  • Eggs and toast
  • French toast (an eggs and toast remix)
  • Bagel with cream cheese
  • Pancakes/Waffles (flour, baking powder/sods, sugar, eggs, milk… I can’t bring myself to use boxed mix, but to each his own)
  • Oatmeal with fruit/nuts

So tonight I threw together some French toast with maple syrup from Massachusetts, with some blueberries and strawberries I had left in the fridge. Curious if there were some website telling me I was making French toast all wrong, I stumbled upon this post from Bon Appetit. Though I disagree that making French toast requires “considerable prep and cooking time,” there really are some great tips that you’ve likely figured out already if you’ve made this dish more than 5 times. The most important to me: Take your time soaking the bread so that the custard makes it to the middle,  and don’t add so much dairy to the custard so as to soggify the end product.

Leave a Reply

