Roast Zucchini Soup

I never used to appreciate soup.

roast zucchini soup

Was it the association with being sick and home from school? Was it the concentrated sodium jolt of Campbell’s Chicken Noodle? Maybe, perhaps, a carryover from being a high school athlete and never feeling full after a meal of soup? For whatever reason, soup and I never fell in love until after college. It just took that long for us to find one another.

And now? NOW I LOVE SOUP.

I love to cook it and I love to eat it. I love how delicate the flavors and aromas can be. And there’s an undeniably satisfying feeling to adding an extra pinch of this or dash of that over a gently simmering pot. It’s a little bit Swedish-Chef-From-The-Muppets.

Luckily I married a woman whose love of soup surpasses even mine, so when soup is on the menu, I get to be a hero. Tortilla soup,  Julia Child’s soup a l’oignon and potato leek, and smoked corn chowder are some of my favorites to prepare. And stews? DID SOMEONE MENTION STEWS???

Let’s save stews for another day.

This post is about the Roast Zucchini Soup recipe from the awesome blog, Sixcoursedinner. Phil, the proprietor of the site, prefers measurements like “a bunch,” “a few,” and “some,” in lieu of 1 qt., 2 tbps, and 1/4 cup. I respect this, and I cook like this very frequently when I’m really comfortable with a recipe, but when you’re constructing a shopping list for a recipe you’re making for the first time, it can be a bit stressful. So while it may be sacrilegious to him (sorry Phil!), I’m going to provide more traditional measurements for those of you on your first go-round. By all means though, experiment with amounts to taste!

  • 2.5lbs zucchini and summer squash mix
  • 2 large shallots (3oz)
  • 3 medium red potatoes (peeled)
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 2oz blue cheese (I used a Danish blue the first time)

The recipe on sixcoursedinner calls for chicken broth, which I’m sure would taste great as well. I wanted a truly vegetarian soup, so I used vegetable broth. And, since I’m not splurging on the highest quality stock available, I didn’t want each spoonful of zucchini soup to have a chicken taste-ghost.

My wife Rebecca doesn’t love blue cheese, so I only used 2oz. If I were cooking this just for me, I would probably double it to bring out that sharp flavor. I could also see adding another 1/2 lb of zucchini to the mix. This list makes enough soup for six servings. Six delicious servings. Visit the recipe at sixcoursedinner for photos of the finished product, the complete set of instructions, and more excellent recipes.

 

Leave a Reply

