Chickpea and Spinach Stir-Fry

Listen up, meat-free friends!

Spice Mix

The Runner’s World Cookbook is an excellent resource for vegetarian dishes. It also happens to be an excellent resource for breakfast foods, desserts, and meals-with-meat. Admittedly, I’ve been a little obsessed with this cookbook for the past two weeks, having prepared two breakfasts, one smoothie, and three dinners. Oh, and none of that would be possible if the recipes weren’t also affordable, so the book has been a home run.

Chickpeas

I should probably explain that I’m not a vegetarian. I really enjoy meat and seafood when the occasion permits. More often than not, however, I’m finding myself an inadvertent vegetarian simply because meat and seafood are so expensive.  I also dig the smaller carbon footprint of not eating beef every week.

Spices

One of the pleasantest surprises from Runner’s World was a dinner I made last week, blandly titled, “Chickpea and Spinach Stir-Fry.” Imagining these two ingredients alone bouncing around in a hot wok didn’t quite make my mouth water, but as I looked at the list of other ingredients, I began to see how this had a lot of potential: garlic, ginger, cherry tomatoes, garam masala, turmeric, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, and a dollop of plain yogurt on top. I recognize that for some this still doesn’t elicit tummy rumbles, but as soon as your sizzling chickpeas and garlic get blasted with this spice mix, you might just change your mind.

Veggies and Fruit

I made no changes to the recipe, which you can find here at Runner’s World. After trying it, I still wouldn’t make a single change, except maybe a pinch more cayenne for a stronger kick. I wish my house could smell like this recipe all the time.

Wilting the Spinach

If you’re skeptical about getting your protein from beans instead of meat, give this recipe a try. Studies show the fewer cows that are are farting into the atmosphere each second, the better.

Wait, didn’t I eat hamburgers this week too? Well, like I said, I’m not completely a vegetarian. Everything in moderation.

Chickpea and Spinach Stir-Fry

 

Leave a Reply

