Meal Plan: August 7 – 14, 2014

As we creep closer and closer to the 2014-15 school year, I am painfully aware of the fact that I won’t have all this cooking time for much longer. I’ve been enjoying cooking dinners at a very leisurely pace and savoring the ability to start more complex and time-consuming recipes early in the afternoon. But it is not to last. Once school begins, Rebecca and I will both be back on work-and-school schedules, and won’t be able to start preparing dinner at 3:00pm. So for the next week or so, I’m really going to enjoy the extra time.

This week I’m pulling a few recipes from my latest stack of cookbooks from the public library:

  • River Cottage Veg, by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall. First of all, did you guess he’s British? Secondly, he writes in the introduction, “I still believe in being a selective omnivore, casting a positive vote in favor of ethically produced meat and sustainably caught fish. However, I now recognize that in order to eat these two great foods in good conscience, I have to recognize, control, and impose limits on my appetite for them.” I like this sentiment, though it doesn’t leave room for the occasional delicious hot dog.
  • The New Way to Cook Light, by Scott Mowbray and Ann Taylor Pittman. This cookbook champions nine essential principles, including: cook more often, eat more whole foods, favor the healthy fats, eat more plants, and cook seasonally and locally (when possible).

In addition to the tantalizing recipes in the cookbooks above, I’ll also be preparing pasta with the latest batch of garden pesto, which made a whopping 45 fl.oz.! Oh, and maybe a breakfast smoothie featuring canned pumpkin from The Runner’s World Cookbook. I can’t get enough of that thing.


Thursday and Friday

Grilled Pork Chops with Shallot Butter, fromThe New Way to Cook Light and Roasted Beet Salad with Avocado and Orange from The Runner’s World Cookbook.


Saturday and Sunday

Spiced Spinach and Potatoes, from River Cottage Veg


Monday and Tuesday

Tahini-Dressed Zucchini and Green Bean Salad, from River Cottage Veg


Wednesday and Thursday

Pasta with Garden Pesto


 

Leave a Reply

