Broccoli Soba Noodles

My friend Shelby has a memorable food endorsement: “This is so good that I want to rub it all over my face.” For him, the pizza from this one weird little pizza place did it every time. I want to rub this pizza on my face. 

soba noodles 1

I can definitely appreciate the sentiment. For me it used to be Aram’s #2 House of Pizza in Cambridge, MA near the Lechmere T station. What was it about that place? I think they put drugs in the sauce. It was THAT good. When I encounter food that satisfying, my first thought tends to be “I want to eat this every day for the rest of my life.” I want it to be my desert island food.

 

The other day it happened. All it took was one bite, but I had a feeling it was going to happen while I prepared it. The smells were all wafting around the kitchen and turing into a disembodied cartoon beckoning hand. I wanted to eat it and make cookie monster sounds. OM NOMNOMNOM!!!

 

Tiny pelicans like to stand on soba noodles. It is known.

soba noodles with pelican

Broccoli Soba Noodles has seven ingredients, and eleven if you include all of the garnishes I used. It is easy and satisfying and fresh and healthy and delicious and I want to rub my face on it!

cooked soba noodles

BROCCOLI SOBA BOWL RECIPE
Adapted from iamafoodblog
serves 2

2 cups fresh broccoli florets (about 2 small crowns)
4 oz. Soba Noodles
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon soy sauce
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
2 teaspoons red pepper flakes (more to teste)
Salt and pepper, to taste
Toasted sesame seeds
4 large radishes, thinly sliced
1 large carrot, grated or julienned

Start heating a pot of water for the soba noodles.

Meanwhile, heat a cast iron skillet over high heat, add one “glug” of olive oil and swirl to coat the skillet. Add the broccoli and cook, stirring occasionally for 4-5 minutes. Look for the broccoli to be bright green AND deeply charred. Finish by seasoning with salt and pepper. Remove and set aside in a bowl.

Once the water is boiling, cook the soba noodles according to the instructions on the package. While the noodles cook, make the dressing by whisking together the rice vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, and garlic in a small bowl. When the noodles are cooked, rinse in cold water to cool and drain well in a colander.

Toss the noodles with the dressing and divide into two bowls. Top with the broccoli and garnish with red pepper flakes, radishes, carrots, and toasted sesame seeds.

finished soba noodle bowl of amazing

Leave a Reply

